A Eulogy for a Guide Dog

Trep:

May 7, 2004-September 22, 2017

“To every creature is given both a place and a time, and when that time is over, we have to let them go.”

–Robin Hobb

“You think the dead we loved ever truly leave us? You think that we don’t recall them more clearly than ever in times of great trouble?”

–J. K. Rowling

I know my memories will fade with time, edges will blur, corners soften. I may not remember exactly what we did on such and such a date. However, what I know I will always remember is how much I love you, Trep. I will feel you in the wind singing in my ears when I’m striding out through life, and I will recall how you were always at my side looking so serious while you were working. I will see you in the beauty of a sunset, and recall all the walks we took in the evenings when I was upset or just in need of fresh air. I will feel you near anytime I’m at the ocean, and I will recall how you dragged me into the water the first time we went. I will feel your warmth when I’m cuddled in bed, and I will recall how you would snuggle with me on cold winter nights. I will feel the echo of you resting against my legs when I’m sitting in a lecture, and I will recall how you had noisy nightmares only in my first-year philosophy class. I’ll recall you when I am walking and step in a puddle, and I will laugh because you always would walk around them in such a way that your paws would stay dry while I would get soaked. When I travel, I will recall how excited you would get about going to the airport. When I cross the stage at my university graduation, I will remember how you graduated with me in grade 9 and grade 12, and I will wish you were there with me to give a bow. I will remember you when I eat your favourite foods: bananas, carrots, and DQ ice cream. I will feel you near when I’m happy, and I will recall how you would run and squeak your toys with abandon, how you would excitedly rip open your presents at Christmas, and how you would gleefully run and dig in the snow. When I am sitting in peace, I will recall the soft, rhythmic sounds of you contentedly sucking on your stuffed penguin’s head. When I’m sad, I’ll recall how you crawled into my lap and just let me hold you. When I need comfort, I will remember your soft fur and your kisses. When I’m scared, I will feel your solid presence at my side. When I’m overwhelmed, I will remember your steadfast work ethic. When I’m exasperated, I will remember your quiet patience. When I’m giving up, I will recall how you held on. You always remembered every route we took, even if it was only once. I will always remember you. You loved everyone, I want you to know that I will love you forever. You changed my life in ways I can’t even begin to articulate. I knew from the first time I picked up your harness handle that we were an unbreakable team. I know you will still be at my side, and in my heart, guiding me for the rest of my life.

You were just the best dog.

“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are messengers of overwhelming grief…and unspeakable love.”

— Washington Irving

“Sorrow and loss never die. We can put them away in a chest and lock it tight, but whenever it is opened, even a crack, the aroma of lost sweetness will rise to fill our lungs to heaviness.”

–Robin Hobb

Leave a comment